Reflexology Class for Licensed Massage Therapists and the General Public
Sep 30, 2019 11:26AM
Anyone interested in learning reflexology is welcome to attend a reflexology class with instructor Marlene Hudson, BS, LMT, from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m. on November 9 and 10 at the YMCA of the Pines, in Medford.
Most often reflexology is performed by massage therapists, and massage laws vary by states. For example, anyone practicing reflexology in Florida must be a licensed massage therapist. In New Jersey, it is the opposite; a person does not need to be a massage therapist to practice reflexology.
The standard practice to be a reflexology practitioner is 300 hours and 100 hours of clinic. This class is an introduction to reflexology and satisfies New Jersey 14 live class hours (CEs) for massage license renewal. Other health practitioners may find value in taking this class, as well as mothers for lesser known ways to help themselves and their families. “I teach reflexology because many years ago a reflexologist ‘cured’ me of a paralysis,” says Hudson.
Cost: $350 (meals included; breakfast and lunch both days). Sign in is from 7:30 to 9 a.m. on Nov. 9. Registration deadline is Oct. 26. Location: 1303 Stokes Rd. For more information or to register, call/text Hudson at 609-321-4843 or email her at [email protected].